Molens



Mills in Kaag & Braassem


Kaag en BraassemRijpweteringHoogmadeOude WeteringRoelofarendsveenKaagOud AdeRijnsaterwoude
Molens, Windmills

Kaag & Braassem counts 20 mills, well actually 20 and 2 halves. Read more about the mills in our municipality.

Geestmolen

Heiligegeestlaan 6
2465 AX Rijnsaterwoude
Molens

For the desiccation of the Grote Heilige Geestpolder, the Geestmolen, a ground-sailor, was built in 1707. On the burr of the mill however, it says 1833, in this year the top of the mill was fully restored.


Kagermolen (Kager Windmill)

Balgerij 2
2159 LZ Kaag
Molens, Mühlen , Windmills

De Kager is a hollow post mill from the 17th century. The windmill has a red upper house and was completely restored in 1965.

Veendermolen

Aderweg 2
2371 AH Roelofarendsveen
Molens

This round stone ground-sailor lies on the banks of the Wijde Aa in Roelofarendsveen. The substructure is dated from 1830, the top was built in 1934 by the mill making company Verbij from Hoogmade.


Lijkermolen No. 2

Poeldijk 1
2375 NE Rijpwetering
Molens, Mühlen , Windmills

​Together Lijkermolen No. 1 and Lijkermolen No. 2 form a unique duo. They are the only twelve-sided stone mills in the Netherlands. The two ground-sailers (windmills that can be controlled from the ground) were built in 1780 on a pond which had had its peat removed (the current Drooggemaakte Veender- en Lijkerpolder) to drain it dry.

Lijkermolen no. 1

Poeldijk 8
2375 NE Rijpwetering
Molens, Mühlen , Windmills

Together Lijkermolen No. 1 and Lijkermolen No. 2 form a unique duo. They are the only twelve-sided stone mills in the Netherlands. The two ground-sailers (windmills that can be controlled from the ground) were built in 1780 on a pond which had had its peat removed (the current Drooggemaakte Veender- en Lijkerpolder) to drain it dry.


Buurtermolen

Buurterpolder
2375 NJ Rijpwetering
Molens, Mühlen , Windmills

The Buurtermolen, believed to have been built in the 18th century, was used to drain the Buurterpolder up to 1968. When this task was taken over by an electric pumping station, the hollow post mill fell into disrepair.

Blauwemolen

Blauwemolenweg 10
2375 LZ Rijpwetering
Molens, Windmills

The Blauwe Polder (Blue Polder) owes his name to the smock mill with the blue painted top, which drained the polder. When this smock mill was broken down, in 1903. Mill maker Vrijburg from Oud Ade built the current Blauwemolen in 1904. With parts of an old ‘Boezemmolen’ (drainage mill) dated 1774 from Hillersberg.


Akkerslootmolen

Akkerslootpolder 7
2374 AB Rijpwetering
Molens

The Akkerslootmolen is an eight sided thatched rof ground-sailor dated from 1793. The mill can be deployed to drain te Akkersloot, Hertogs and Blijverspolder.

Googermolen

Googermolenweg 1
2377 CW Oude Wetering
Molens, Mühlen , Windmills

In 1717 the Googermolen was built to drain the Googerpolder. The current miller is Jos van der Donk.


Vrouw Vennemolen

Leidseweg 3
2374 AN Oud Ade
Molens, Mühlen , Windmills

The Vrouw Vennemolen in Oud Ade dates from the 17th century and was largely renovated in 1835. The hollow post windmill with a red painted upper house can be used to drain the Vrouw Vennepolder.

Rodemolen

Roode polder (geen adres)
2374 BP Oud Ade
Molens

The Rodemolen in Oud Ade was built in 1632 to drain the Westlagelandspolder. The name of this polder didn’t last long, as in 1654 it already was mentioned the Roodmolenpolder (red mill polder), the current name is, in short, Rode Polder. So the polder was mentioned after the mill intead of the other way round.